Praying for Pastor Davey Blackburn

One morning earlier this week, a pastor woke up in his Indianapolis home. He went to the gym to run, as he probably did often. This pastor and his wife were expecting a baby soon. It probably began as a normal morning. He returned to find what would be to me the worst possibly scene in the world. One I don’t even want to imagine. He walked into his home to find his pregnant wife shot. It was Pastor Davey Blackburn’s morning. His wife passed away yesterday in the hospital. It could have just as easily been my morning. I often wake up and head to the gym. My wife is also pregnant. We’re both pastors. This terrible act of violence has hit very close to home.

I recognize that the Body of Christ is larger than the congregation I serve or even the denomination I am part of. I didn’t know this pastor and his family, but he is my brother in Christ. I can’t imagine the grief and pain he, his family and congregation are going through right now. I’m sure they are filled with emotions, grief, sadness and questions. We read in 1 Corinthians 12: 26, “When one part of the body suffers, all the other parts suffer with it.” There are many pastors and congregations who are holding this family in our prayers. I have been and will continue to pray for Pastor Davey Blackburn, his family and his congregation, Resonate Church.

Will you join me in praying for them too?

As I did when I heard of the church shooting in Charleston, SC, I pray. As I did when I heard of the shooting of 10 year old Deshaun Swanson in Indianapolis, I pray. Whenever I hear of another young person who was shot and killed, my best response is prayer. I pray for the grieving families, congregations, neighborhoods and communities affected. I pray for an end to the violence, shootings and murders. I pray.

I hope that Pastor Davey, his family and his congregation know that they are not alone. There is a community of faith praying for them, and wanting to support and love them.

May God bless every grieving heart with peace, strength and hope in the name of Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

Leave a Reply

